• Park Rapids Area Schools participates in all of the required Minnesota State Assessments: Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment (MCA), Minnesota Test of Academic Skills (MTAS), ACCESS for ELL’s.  We also offer a college entrance exam (ACT, ASFAB and Accuplacer) to 11th and 12th graders.

    Please note: if the Google Assessment Calendar is not visible below, please click this link: Google Assessment Calendar


    MCA Testing
    Sherill Miller
    District Coordinator of Technology & Assessments

Testing Q&A

  • How can I prepare my child for state tests?

    Posted by:

    In general, parents should …

    • Remind students that these tests are important and should be taken seriously
    • Encourage students to answer all test questions
    • Encourage students to participate in practice sessions at school and home
    • Have students get a good night’s sleep and a nutritious breakfast before taking a test
    • Provide students with a study area
    • Encourage students to practice good study habits. Students should set aside time every day for homework

    Comments (-1)

State Testing Windows 17-18

  • While the Minnesota Department of Education strives to ensure this testing schedule remains unaltered, it is subject to change based on assessment decisions made by the Minnesota Legislature or Congress.

    January 29: ACCESS for ELLs 2.0® Online and Alternate ACCESS for ELLs® Paper Begins

    March 5:

    • MCA Reading Grades 3–8, 10 and Mathematics Grades 3–8, 11 Online Begins
    • MCA Science Grades 5, 8, and High School Online Begins
    • MTAS Reading, Mathematics, and Science Begins

    March 23: ACCESS for ELLs 2.0® Online and Alternate ACCESS for ELLs® Paper Ends

    May 4:

    • MCA Reading Grades 3–8, 10 and Mathematics Grades 3–8, 11 Online Ends
    • MTAS Reading, Mathematics, and Science Ends

    May 11: MCA Science Grades 5, 8, and High School Online Ends

Information About Assessments

  • The Minnesota Assessments System has three purposes:

    1. To measure achievement towards meeting the Minnesota Academic Standards
    2. To measure the academic progress of students over time.
    3. To provide Minnesota graduates information related to career and college readiness.

    The primary purpose of the Standards-Based Accountability Assessments is to measure achievement on the Minnesota Academic Standards. Districts and schools use the results to inform curricular decisions. Parents use the results to monitor the academic progress of their children over the years. Minnesota public districts and schools, including charter schools, are required to assess all students in the required grades who are enrolled in the district during the state’s accountability window. Students take one test in each subject. Most students take the MCA, but students who receive special education services and meet the MTAS eligibility criteria may take the MTAS. View the MDE website for further information (MDE>Students and Families>Statewide testing)

    The ACCESS is an English language proficiency assessment based on the Minnesota Standards for English Language Development, developed by the WIDA Consortium. There are four language domains assessed by the ACCESS: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The test is available in six grade-level clusters: grades K, 1, 2–3, 4–5, 6–8, and 9–12. While the Kindergarten ACCESS remains paper-based, the ACCESS is administered online. View the WIDA website for further information, including resources technology requirements (WIDA > Assessment > ACCESS for ELLs 2.0).

    Results for MCA, MTAS and ACCESS assessments are shipped to the district in August and include the paper copy of the Individual Student Reports. This report documents the student’s overall achievement level as well as performance on each strand or sub-strand.  ISRs will be distributed to parents by fall conferences.